My New Favorite Place

I took the day off from job hunting today and decided to go and visit used book stores in Chicago. In this search, I found my new favorite place! It’s called “Ravenswood Used Books” and it’s unlike any other book store I have every seen. You walk in and you see nothing but books. Seriously. You have to walk in crammed between these two book shelves. The cashier is on left behind the shelf. If the guy hadn’t of been standing there, there would have been no way for me to know where to purchase books. I then just started walking around…or rather squeezing my way through the store. They have put so many bookshelves into a very small space. Only one person can be between bookshelves comfortably (and some of the areas are uncomfortable for one person). Now these books are “kind of” categorized by genres, but I it was pretty clear that that is not always maintained. Books are just everywhere (on the shelves, on the floor, on top of books on the shelves). This is not the kind of store you go to if you are looking for a specific book or even a specific genre. You only go here if you absolutely love books and love looking through random piles of books. This is the kind of store where you will find treasures that you can never find anywhere else. I unfortunately couldn’t stay for a very long time, but I am definitely going to go back and just stay for hours to see what I can find. It is un-real the amount of books that are in that store.

I don’t know if these pictures can really do the store justice of what it’s actually like to be in there, but I had to take some.

I know it’s silly, but I also shot of video of me trying to walk around. This can give you a little glimpse of what it’s like to walk through this place.

If you live in Chicago or are visiting, you should definitely check this place out. I assure you, you will find no other place like this on. It located at: 4626 North Lincoln Avenue, Chicago, IL 60625. Go now! You won’t regret it.

3 comments on “My New Favorite Place

  1. If you like Mexican food that is authentic or if you like margaritas, keep walking North up lincoln maybe 1 or 2 blocks until you get to lincoln square which is right across the street from the western stop. Go to a restaurant called Garcia’s. Seriously the best food ever. And cheap. If you order a pitcher of margaritas you get an entire pitcher filled PLUS they fill all the cups before bringing them out. It is amazing.

    • Thanks…good to know. I am definitely going to have to just kind of explore that area. There seems to be a lot of cool places.

  2. Reminds me of Jackson Street Bookseller in Omaha! Randy Jensen and I loved that place. It’s so fun becoming a part of a “country”–Chi Town–a whole ‘nother country!

Leave a comment