So I live in Seattle Now…

If you had asked me just a short 53 days ago what I will be doing in 2 months the answer would have been simple…I would be working at “Pret A Manager” as Shop Team leader with a possibility of training to become Assistant Floor Manager.  The answer would have probably been the same if you had asked me what I’ll be doing in a year.

I’ve lived in Chicago for 1 year.  I came to work in theater, which is what I started doing.  I got a day job at Pret and then I worked in theater at night and on the weekends.  I worked 2 gigs back to back as soon as I came to Chicago and then I had this sort of crisis where I needed to take a break from theater.  I was ok with it at the time…I was only going to do that for a few months.  But then Pret happened.  I’m not really sure how, but it sucked me in.  I got stuck.  They were offering me raises and promotions (which ended up not being such a great experience but that’s not what this post is about).  I kept saying to myself, “I’ll see how this goes” and I kind of forgot why I came to Chicago.  I was turning down gigs and as time went on I became more depressed about it, but as I said, I felt stuck and didn’t really know what to do about it.

Then, out of nowhere, just 52 days ago, I get an email asking me to apply for the production stage manager position at the Taproot Theatre Company in Seattle, Washington.  WHAT?!!!  I researched the job and the theater.  This was a full time, salary plus benefits job.  Again I say WHAT???!!!!!!  I didn’t even think those existed in the non-union world.  In fact, this is one of the very few non-union theater companies that has this kind of job.  I never in a million years thought I would ever have a salary job.  CRAZY!!!  Two weeks later they fly me out for an interview (which with the time difference and the plane flights, I was up for a total of 23 hours that day…it was a long and tiring day) and I loved it there.  And then…just two days later…they offered me the job.  One more time I have to say WHAT??!!!!!!!!!  I couldn’t believe it.  I found the job I was always hoping to get.  I think it’s a rare thing when your passion and your career are the same thing…and I can’t believe  that I was given this opportunity.

The job started in exactly one month.  I had ONE MONTH to uproot my whole life…again…to a strange new city where I know practically no one.  Although I was kind of freaking out about how fast this came along…I had never been more excited for anything in my life.  It reminded me of the feeling I had when I was finally accepted into grad school.  I feel so blessed to have had these amazing opportunities just find me.

I packed up a truck and drove across the country (a three and a half day trip).  I LOVED IT!  On a side note…Montana may be one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

I have now been in Seattle for a grand total of 48 hours.  I started my job yesterday.  I can’t believe I’m here.

I’m so excited to begin this new adventure in my life.

Leave a Reply

