Why I love Kate Winslet!

So I’m not someone who picks up and buys magazines on a regular basis, but I’ll admit, anytime I see Kate Winslet on a cover (or even just her name), I don’t even think about it…I just pick it up and go!. I have some weird addiction to reading and learning about her. This month she happened to be on the cover of Glamour Magazine. Therefore…I bought it!

Every year Glamour Magazine does this thing called The 50 most Glam Women of the year. For the 3rd year in a row Kate Winslet is #1!. This is voted on by Glamour readers…therefore I am not the only person in the world who thinks and knows just how amazing she is.

Aside from what a talented actress she is, I find her to be a great role model for women. This is especially true when it comes to body image. It’s not secret that a large amount of woman have many complicated issues about their own body image (I include myself in this group). We need someone to look up to who has a very healthy outlook on her own body image to help us with our own. Kate Winslet is that person for me. She’s not one of these stick figure women that are considered beautiful in all of the media. She is a beautiful woman and looks healthy at the same time. She has never once tried to conform to any sort of body image rules. She is who she is…and that’s what makes her so beautiful and why I look up to her.

Another reason why I admire her so much, is because she is so normal :). She’s this normal mom who puts her children before anything else. In all interviews I hear her talk about her kids and how she tries to give them this normal life, even though she is this big star (although she doesn’t word it that way). A part of the article I loved was when she was talking about her separation from Sam Mendes. Kate says, “I am nervous about the day the Mia can google [my name]. That’s the reason I am so careful not to talk about the question that people always ask of me: ‘So what actually happened between you and Sam?’ That explanation will never come out of my mouth. Never…Because when my children want to know what actually happened, I want to be the first person they have that conversation with. I don’t want them to read something and believe it, when it probably isn’t true anyway.” How can you not respect that about her?

I don’t really know what else I can say about her other than I LOVE HER. I probably seem like some psycho stalker…but oh well. I respect her so much as a person and a woman that I don’t care how often I say it. People show know how amazing she is.

One comment on “Why I love Kate Winslet!

Leave a Reply

