Why Not Be Green?

So I’m spending my summer in East Texas this summer and if you haven’t ever been here it is not the best place to try to “Go Green”. On the other hand it is the best place because many people in this area need to think more about be eco friendly. The company I’m working at, “The Texas Shakespeare Festival” is currently in the process of being green. I’m so excited about this!! I don’t think we are going to make huge progress in this…but every little bit helps.

This whole past year I’ve been learning a lot about what it means to be sustainable. I’m trying to include this into my life and my work as a stage manager. Therefore, when I talk about what I do know…it’s hard for me not to talk about sustainability. I recently just spent time with my family and I talked a little about this. While some listen and seemed to care, others didn’t. I felt like they were making fun of me. I don’t really understand that. My whole family is Christian and this seems like such an obvious thing for Christians to care about. We believe that God gave us this world to live on and I believe it is our responsibility to protect and preserve the home he gave us. I know they don’t agree with global warming which is fine. I do believe in global warming but this has very little to do with this. We should want to “be green” whether that was a factor or not. I truly believe we have a moral obligation to do everything we can to protect our world. The fact is that we are damaging our earth…and American more so than any other county by far. I don’t understand why people don’t care about this. Ignorance is not an option anymore. I’m certainly not perfect at it, but I am trying to learn about it.

I realize this can seem like such a hassle (and I hate that it is viewed that way). However, if everyone starts doing this then being green will be as normal and as easy as it is to be as wasteful as we are now.

2 comments on “Why Not Be Green?

  1. This is why I hate wrapping paper! One of the most discarded pieces of paper to have ever been created. We wrap up presents to look pretty, then we rip it up and toss the paper in the trash! It serves no use other than hiding a present to help support our materialistic nature.

    The amount of things we throw away is just absolutely horrifying! We have so many disposable items it’s insane! one of these days we wont have any landfills and we will end up living in a world that resembles the world in Wall-E.

  2. I think you’re just trying to get out of wrapping presents…lol. There are places that are making recycled wrapping paper, which is definetly better. It’s always better to use gift bags because they are easier to reuse. Another option of course is fabric gift wrapping. You could also become one of those people who slowly removes the wrapping paper and keeps it for later use =).

Leave a Reply

